Some Useful Git Aliases

I started using Git years ago, almost always from the command-line. There are great GUIs available, as well as plugins for many editors, which provide user-friendly access to most of the Git commands you will ever care to use. But some people, like myself, are in the habit of using command-line interfaces. And years of using Git from a terminal results in the creation of an alias or two for brevity and utility.

These are ones I use most often.

git reword-last

Definition: reword-last = commit --amend -C HEAD

I often notice typos or other mistakes in commit messages after I finish writing them. For instance, I routinely forget to mention some important detail about the patch. This git reword-last alias opens the latest commit in my editor so that I can fix its commit message, amending the existing commit.

git whatsup

Definition: whatsup = log --all --decorate --oneline --graph

I use this alias to refresh my memory about what’s going on in a repository before I set out coding. It is a poor man’s terminal version of output from a GUI. For example, the output of git whatsup looks like:

* c8d5586 Improve the clarity in the instruction documentation about opcodes
*   b1f9c0d Merge branch 'additional-positions'
|\
| * 342d5ca Fix two table accesses in Drawable:setPosition()
| * 1cbc35a Set the position for Drawables inside the ‘draw-image’ instruction
| * d50a87b Document the ‘position’ argument for the ‘draw-image’ instruction
| * e66ca93 Add comments explaining each step of the module loading process
| * fad116e Correct the documentation regarding position values in the settings
| * 0af2601 Alter the comments for the ‘set-scene-image’ opcode for clarity
| * 5edeb3b Fix typos in the comments for the LNVL.Opcode.Processor table
| * 66d678b Make the example array more clear in the ClampedArray module comment
| * d3a502b Add a script for testing out all of the position values
| * 7d62724 Fix a crash when scenes have transparent dialog boxes
| * c2a706f Teach Drawable:setPosition() to deal with all possible positions
| * 582e84c Document the new position values in the Howto
| * a7f4e3f Show the ‘position’ of a Drawable when converting it to a string
| * e3cf819 Add the diagram of positions from the previous commit message
| * b2566e0 Define LNVL.Position values for nine parts on the screen
| * ae4eaa2 Dynamically define the values for LNVL.Position
* |   e8b5763 Merge branch 'character-specific-fonts'
|\ \
| * | 31787fe Teach the ‘say’ instruction how to handle character fonts
| * | fa8a886 Teach Scene:drawText() to optionally accept a font as an argument
| * | bea04c9 Correct the comment for Scene:drawText() regarding the container
| * | 18ebe58 Create TAGS entries for code implementing opcodes and instructions
| * | 93e745f Allow the ‘font’ property when constructing Character objects
| * | 17a3015 Document the use of character fonts in the Howto
|/ /
* | dcda4d0 Add comments explaining each step of the module loading process
* | 0bca5b9 Correct the documentation regarding position values in the settings
* | c5c85bc Alter the comments for the ‘set-scene-image’ opcode for clarity

Restricted For Time

Often I only care to see the output of git whatsup for changes from the previous day, or since last week. The git log command, which the alias uses, accepts a --since parameter that can restrict the output to only those commits fitting into the given time-frame. So I frequently use these two aliases, built on top of the previous:

  1. today = !git whatsup --since="yesterday"
  2. week = !git whatsup --since="last week"

Now I can use git today and git week to only see current changes.

git aucv

Definition: aucv = !git add -u :/ && git commit -v

The awful four-letter name comes from the commands and parameters in the alias:

  1. add
  2. -u
  3. commit
  4. -v

It looks like I’m trying to randomly pick names from the periodic table of elements—terrible, I know.

This is the alias I use the most. It adds and commits changes at the same time. However, it only adds changes in files already tracked by Git (-u), and only those which are in the current directory or any of its sub-directories (:/). I prefer this approach instead of using something like git add -a or git add . because it decreases the chances that I accidentally commit something I did not mean to commit.

git master-merge

I need to explain my common workflow before this one. By default Git calls the first branch the master branch, and I rarely change that. When I am creating new features or fixing bugs I always start out doing that on a new branch. When finished I merge that branch back into master. Except—to throw out some Git terminology—I avoid ‘fast-forward merges’. If my new branch contains only a single commit then I will use a fast-forward merge, which is Git’s default behavior, but that is the only time. In any other situation I want to explicitly not perform a fast-forward merge. There are articles that explain my reasoning behind that preference.

Now for the alias:

Definition: master-merge = !git checkout master && git merge --edit --no-ff @{-1} && git branch -d @{-1}

You’ll see three commands in there. Because when I run git master-merge from one of my branches it performs the following:

  1. Switches back to the master branch.

  2. Merges the branch I was just on (@{-1} is the short-hand for that) into master, opening the merge commit in my text editor so I can make sure it looks right first. And note this does not perform a fast-forward merge.

  3. Delete that branch I was on if there was no error in the merge process. If the merge failed for any reason then the branch remains. This provides a short-cut for stopping the merge if something looks wrong: save an empty commit message in my editor. Git will intentionally not accept an empty commit message as a way to stop an in-process git commit, git merge, et cetera.

And There Are Others

I use more aliases than that on a regular basis, but the rest rely on external scripts that are not part of Git, utilities my friends and I put together over the years. Someday I will get around to making those scripts available from my GitHub page. Someday….

If you have any Git aliases you commonly use then please share, and enjoy!

Add Your Thoughts

