Trying Alternative Shells for a Month

I’ve used GNU Bash for what seems like forever. But now I have the strange urge to try something different, anything that feels separated from the work of Stephen Bourne. So for the next month whenever I need to write a shell script I am going to try using something else, like Rc or Xs. If you have any suggestions I’d love to hear them. But my interest is with their scripting languages, not their user interfaces, which is why Zsh does not grab my attention as that seems to be the most popular alternative to Bash.

One thought on “Trying Alternative Shells for a Month

Add Your Thoughts

