Switching from phpDocumentor to ApiGen

Previously I wrote about my intent to use phpDocumentor on a project. I have since switched to using ApiGen. Gradually I became less happy with the formatting of phpDocumentor’s output. You can customize that but honestly it was easier to switch to another tool than to setup a theme that I wanted. ApiGen already understands all of the annotations I was using, so I had to change nothing within my code. And in my opinion its output is easier to read and easier to browse.

I am going to stick with ApiGen, while a friend is going to use phpDocumentor instead. If you’re writing any PHP software then give both a shot and see which one works best for you.

2 thoughts on “Switching from phpDocumentor to ApiGen

  1. Neither are necessarily bad… I just liked that I could get the phpDocs to look the way I wanted without too much effort. A few minor tweaks and I was able to publish directly to my site with code docs you can browse. The fact that people reading this might actually be documenting code is a great thing. More coders need to write proper in-code docs!

    1. > I just liked that I could get the phpDocs to look the way I wanted without too much effort.

      I had the opposite experience. So maybe I was doing something wrong. I also didn’t see any themes or such that really jumped out at me. I agree with what you say in your article that phpDocumentor has the more polished site, but I ended up liking the style of ApiGen’s output more.

      > More coders need to write proper in-code docs!

      Couldn’t agree more.

Add Your Thoughts

