Musing on PHP FIG

It has been a slow week for anything related to computers; other things have occupied my time, to put it simply. And for those same reasons this is not going to be a long post.

I am mentally debating whether or not I should apply for membership for the PHP Framework Interop Group. Their purpose, as they say:

The idea behind the group is for project representatives to talk about the commonalities between our projects and find ways we can work together. Our main audience is each other, but we’re very aware that the rest of the PHP community is watching. If other folks want to adopt what we’re doing they are welcome to do so, but that is not the aim.

The PHP FIG creates, discusses, votes on, and publishes standards (PSRs) like so. In general the intended audience is the developers of PHP frameworks. However, the decision of those authors to follow those PSRs affects my work on PHP Mode for Emacs. So now I keep asking myself, “Am I in a position where I can provide meaningful input about these standards since they affect me?” Then again, seeing membership for FuelPHP rejected on the basis that it “is not yet influencing enough” does not give me a Hell of a lot of hope that GNU Emacs’ PHP Mode would be considered influential enough.

More importantly, sometime tonight I really hope to get around to addressing a couple of pull requests for PHP Mode that have been open for much longer than I would prefer. Maybe I ought to find someone to be a ‘Second in Command’ for managing that project for when I’m unexpected available.

2 thoughts on “Musing on PHP FIG

  1. At some point, I would like to attempt to contribute to php-mode, what with how much I use it.

    Have you used CEDET at all? It has some fairly rudimentary support for parsing PHP, but could definitely use a lot of work. I would like to assume that a major mode could provide parsing for it, but I’m not entirely sure about that. As it is, it poops all over itself if you deign to use a namespace (among other things).

  2. Working together on PHP Mode would be great.

    I’ve used CEDET some, more with C than anything else. It feels rough around the edges even for that. I believe improving CEDET for use with PHP would yield some great functionality, but I suspect it would take a lot of effort before seeing any results. I think it’s a change to PHP Mode that would have to be done in parallel to other improvements and bug fixes, because I think trying to gradually introduce CEDET would screw up a lot of the existing logic in PHP Mode that’s based around cc-mode. But in the long run I think it would be a really great thing to do.

Add Your Thoughts

